River Styx Is Hungry For Summer!

    Since 1975, River Styx has published an international, award-winning journal of the best poetry, fiction, essays, interviews, and art. The magazine has published such luminaries as Nobel Laureates Derek Walcott, Wislawa Szymborska, and Czeslaw Milosz; Pulitzer Prize winners Yusef Komunyakaa, Stephen Dunn, Maxine Kumin, Lisel Mueller, Louis Simpson, and Ted Kooser; National Book Award Winners Marilyn Hacker, Howard Nemerov, Lisel Mueller, Lucille Clifton, and Robert Hass; and US Poets Laureate Howard Nemerov, Mona Van Duyn, Rita Dove, William Stafford, Robert Hass, Donald Hall, Charles Simic, and Ted Kooser.

    Other notable writers published in the magazine or featured in the reading series over the last two decades include Jorge Luis Borges, Ntozake Shange, William Stafford, Octavio Paz, Joseph Epstein, Allen Ginsberg, Margaret Atwood, Philip Levine, Marilyn Hacker, Terry McMillan, Sharon Olds, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Rodney Jones, Isabel Allende, Li-Young Lee, Alan Shapiro, Molly Peacock, and Albert Goldbarth.

    River Styx continues to receive national acclaim, winning NEA awards and, on many occasions, St. Louis Poetry Center’s Stanley Hanks First Prize. Poems and stories have regularly been included in the Best American Poetry and New Stories from the South anthologies, Best New Poets, and The Pushcart Prizes: Best of the Small PressesRiver Styx publishes three issues a year, sponsors annual contests for poetry and micro-fiction, and hosts a monthly reading series at the Tavern of Fine Arts in St. Louis in partnership with the Missouri Humanities Council and with support from the National Endowment for the Arts, the St. Louis Regional Arts Commission, and the Missouri Arts Council.

    Related Posts

    Things to do in St. Louis

    Sign Up
    HEC-TV NewsLetter

    Playing Now

    • 20:00 | First Person, One on One
    • 21:30 | Maryville Talks Books
    • 22:00 | First Person, One on One
    • 22:30 | The World of Julia Peterkin: Cheating the Stillness
    • 07:00 | Liquid Light